This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is

San Marino

Capital city: The City of San Marino
Official language: Italian
Currency: Euro
Population: 33,938

Visitors to San Marino must first enter Italy, therefore many visitors combine the two countries on their journey.

Austria, France, Slovenia, and Switzerland are other nations that border Italy and are near to San Marino.

Visitors possessing an ETIAS can use the same travel permit to visit any other Schengen nation. It will also be valid for travel to the Schengen Area countries of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania.

Travelers from visa-exempt nations do not require a visa to visit San Marino, but they will soon be required to register with ETIAS before to their journey.

Non-EU citizens who do not qualify for the ETIAS visa waiver must get a Schengen visa in order to visit San Marino.

To visit San Marino, eligible passport holders will simply require their passport and a valid ETIAS.

To register with ETIAS, all you need is an email address and a debit or credit card.

To apply for a Schengen visa, applicants must provide supporting paperwork.