This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital: Bratislava
Official language: Slovak
Currency: Euro
Population: 5.5 million
EU member state since: 1st May 2004

Slovakia’s centre European position gives it a good starting point for trips to other European countries.

Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, and Austria are the four Schengen Area nations that border Slovakia. Because there are no internal Schengen borders, each of these places is easily accessible from Slovakia with an ETIAS visa waiver or Schengen visa.

Direct flights from Bratislava airport connect to other European locations such as Germany and France.

Ukraine has a border with Slovakia. Before travelling, travellers should verify the visa requirements.

Passport holders from visa-free countries can visit Slovakia with their passport and, beginning in late 2023, an ETIAS visa waiver.

The ETIAS application is fully online, and all that is required is a valid passport, a credit or debit card, and an email address.

Visitors from other countries who are not eligible for ETIAS must get a Schengen visa for Slovakia. The visa application procedure is more complicated and requires extra supporting papers such as proof of money and travel medical insurance.

Visa-exempt persons from outside the EU will soon be required to register with ETIAS in order to visit Slovakia for leisure, business, or transit purposes.

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) is being implemented to make European destinations safer, and it will become required shortly after its implementation in late 2023.

ETIAS requires a passport valid for three months from the scheduled date of departure from the Schengen Area. The only other criteria are a credit or debit card and an email address.

Once authorised, the ETIAS visa waiver is connected to the applicant’s passport’s biometric chip.

Visitors from other countries who do not qualify for ETIAS owing to their nationality or purpose for visit must apply for a visa to Slovakia.