This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Stockholm
Official language: Swedish
Currency: Swedish krona
Population: 10.23 million
EU member state since: 1st January 1995

Sweden has excellent connections to the rest of Europe. Finland, Norway, and Denmark are the closest nations to Sweden. Visitors can travel by road, boat, plane, or rail from Sweden to the rest of the Schengen region.

ETIAS will be available to visa-exempt travellers beginning in late 2023. To travel to Sweden and all other Schengen member countries, including Norway and Finland, a valid ETIAS will be required.

The type of visa required to visit Sweden is regulated on the individual’s nationality. EU citizens, for example, do not require a visa or authorization to visit Sweden.

Visa-free travel to Sweden is available to citizens of over 50 countries outside the EU. This will continue to be the situation in the future. Instead of a visa, these international travellers will need to apply online for an ETIAS visa waiver prior to their journey.

All other international visitors to Sweden must get a visa. This visa is known as a Schengen visa, and applicants must fulfil a number of criteria. They must provide other documentation at an embassy or consulate in addition to their passport.

When ETIAS becomes available to existing visa-exempt travellers, they must hold a passport that is valid for at least three months after their scheduled date of departure from the European ETIAS nations.

Their travel document should be valid for the duration of their expected stay in the Schengen area. ETIAS allows its bearer to remain for up to 90 days in a row during a 180-day period. Extending the time limit may have an influence on future ETIAS applications.

Travelers with a Schengen visa must also have medical insurance. They will be required to submit their visa and passport upon arrival in Sweden.