This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Vienna
Official language: German
Currency: Euro
Population: 8.9 million
EU member state since: 1st January 1995

Austria benefits from its central European location. Austria is surrounded by eight countries, all of which are members of the Schengen Area.

Because the Schengen travel zone has no internal boundaries, it is feasible to visit all of the neighbouring countries without being stopped at border check.

Italy, Slovenia, Slovakia, Hungary, Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and the Czech Republic may all be entered with the same ETIAS permit.

Direct flights are also available to other famous tourist locations such as Spain and France.

Passport holders from visa-exempt non-EU countries can visit Austria without a visa if they register with ETIAS before their trip.

The ETIAS application process in Austria is entirely online; all that is necessary is a valid passport, an email account, and a debit or credit card to cover the ETIAS expenses.

Non-EU persons who do not qualify for an ETIAS visa waiver will almost certainly require a Schengen visa to visit Austria. Depending on the reason for travel, many types of Schengen visas are available.

A visa requires additional papers, such as evidence of finances and medical insurance.

To travel to Austria from any of the nations that do not require a visa for Europe, an ETIAS authorization will soon be necessary. ETIAS Austria is valid for travel, transit, and business.

ETIAS will supplement Europe’s visa liberalisation initiative; passport holders who register for ETIAS will continue to have visa-free entry to Austria and the rest of the Schengen Area.

To apply, all that is required is a passport issued by one of the ETIAS qualified states and a debit or credit card.

Once an ETIAS Austria application is granted, the permit is digitally linked to the passport and validated at the airport when the passport is scanned.

Other foreign travellers to Austria require a Schengen visa. To apply for a visa, you must provide supporting papers such as evidence of money and medical insurance.