This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Berlin
Official language: German
Currency: Euro
Population: 83 million
EU member state since: 1st January 1958

Germany, being a primarily landlocked country, is bordered by conveniently accessible nations.

Travellers who fulfil the ETIAS standards can apply for the authorization that allows them to enter Schengen Area countries. It should be noted that ETIAS will also be available for Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania, all of which are in the process of entering the Schengen Area.

Third-country nationals holding an authorised ETIAS for Germany can thus travel freely across the Schengen Area, visiting adjacent countries such as France, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg without the need to apply for a new permission.

While many visitors choose to fly between countries, it is also feasible to drive across borders between Germany and neighbouring states.

Those looking for adventure may fly to Austria for some of Europe’s greatest skiing, while direct flights from Berlin to Paris take less than 2 hours. Poland is also easily accessible by air, train, and road from the German capital.

Non-EU nationals from more than 50 countries are not need to get a visa to enter Germany.

Citizens of visa-free nations will be allowed to apply for ETIAS Germany beginning in late 2023. ETIAS is simply obtained online and is valid for tourist, business, and transportation reasons.

The ETIAS visa waiver will be required for all qualified third-country nationals to enter the Schengen Area visa-free. ETIAS holders can utilise the same permission to travel to the Schengen Area, including Germany, because it has no internal borders.

Foreigners from countries that are not part of the ETIAS visa-waiver programme must get a Schengen visa before entering Germany. There are many sorts of Schengen visas available depending on the reason for travel:

  • Uniform Schengen Visa (USV)
  • Limited Territorial Visa (LTV)
  • National Visa
Visitors from visa-free nations will soon require an ETIAS to enter Germany.

Eligible travellers will be able to use the ETIAS visa waiver beginning in late 2023. It will become essential for any short journeys to Germany — or other ETIAS nations — for business, pleasure, tourism, or transit on an eligible passport.

Visitors must fill out an online application form with basic personal information and passport information, as well as certain health and security questions.

Travelers must hold a passport issued by an ETIAS qualifying country that is valid for at least three months after their arrival in Germany. Proof of adequate cash to support the duration of the stay may also be required.

When approved, the ETIAS is electronically linked to the passport and distributed via email; it is recommended that a copy be printed and shown at the German border upon arrival.

Anyone from a nation that is not a member of the ETIAS visa-waiver programme may be required to apply for a German visa, known as a Schengen visa.