This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Lisbon
Official language: Portuguese
Currency: Euro
Population: 10.27 million
EU member state since: 1st January 1986

Portugal shares an ETIAS border with Spain, which is easily accessible by plane, road, or train. Vigo to the north and Huelva to the south are two Spanish border towns worth seeing.

Direct flights are also available to other countries such as France, Italy, and Germany.

Non-EU nationals can utilise the ETIAS for Portugal to visit all of these states and more, thanks to border-free movement in the Schengen Area.

Furthermore, the ETIAS visa waiver allows for numerous entries and is valid for three years, or until the passport expires. This implies that visitors can return to Europe with the same permission, eliminating the need to apply for a new ETIAS each time.

Non-EU citizens from more than 50 countries can visit Portugal without a visa for up to 90 days.

Passport holders from these visa-free countries will soon be required to apply for an ETIAS visa waiver for Portugal. The European Travel Information and Authorisation System, which will allow travel to all Schengen nations, is set to go into force in late 2023.

ETIAS is easier to get than a visa because the application procedure is entirely online and may be performed from home, 24 hours a day.

Foreigners who do not qualify for visa-free travel to Europe will most likely need a Schengen visa to enter Portugal. The type of visa required is determined on the purpose of travel.

Several supporting papers, such as evidence of money and medical insurance, may be required to acquire a visa.

Non-EU citizens who do not require a visa to enter Europe will soon be required to register with ETIAS before travelling to Portugal.

To do so, all that is needed is a passport that fulfils the ETIAS standards, and an application form filled out with basic personal and passport information before being submitted for evaluation.

When accepted, the visa waiver is electronically connected to the passport. The passport is scanned and the ETIAS is validated upon arrival in Europe. ETIAS is good for tourism, commerce, and transit. Eligible foreigners will be denied entry into Portugal unless they have a valid ETIAS travel authorization.

To enter Portugal, foreigners holding passports issued by countries not covered in the EU’s visa liberalisation programme must get a Schengen visa.