This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Amsterdam
Official language: Dutch
Currency: Euro
Population: 17 million
EU member state since: 1st January 1958

The Netherlands is surrounded by only two countries: Belgium and Germany. However, the nation has excellent air, train, and road connections to the rest of Europe.

Visa-free tourists will be able to get an ETIAS to travel inside Schengen member countries, which include both Belgium and Germany, beginning in late 2023.

There are direct flights from the Netherlands to several European cities. Their train system facilitates travel and makes it accessible.

All non-EU travellers should always travel with a valid passport when visiting the Netherlands and the rest of the Schengen Area.

The type of visa required by a traveller is determined on their nationality.

A visa is not required for EU nationals to visit the Netherlands. Non-EU citizens may need an ETIAS visa waiver (starting in late 2023) or a Schengen visa.

There are currently over 50 nations whose residents do not need a visa to visit the Schengen Zone, which includes the Netherlands. To acquire the ETIAS visa waiver, citizens of these countries must first register online.

A Schengen visa may only be obtained through an embassy or consulate in Europe. Applicants will be required to provide their passport as well as a number of additional papers. Depending on the purpose of travel, there are three categories of Schengen visas:

  • Uniform Schengen Visa (USV)
  • Limited Territorial Visa (LTV)
  • National Visa

Non-EU nationals who desire to visit the Netherlands must have a passport in order to enter the country. Citizens having present visa-exempt status, on the other hand, will be able to apply online for the ETIAS visa waiver before travelling to the Netherlands by 2023. ETIAS will be mandated.

The ETIAS visa waiver allows its user to stay in the Schengen Area for up to 90 days. For business, pleasure, or transit travel, ETIAS will be required, along with a valid passport.

On the online application, eligible ETIAS applicants must supply a few biographical details, passport information, and answer security questions.

Citizens who are not eligible for ETIAS must apply for a Schengen visa in order to enter the Netherlands.