This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Madrid
Official language: Spanish
Currency: Euro
Population: 46.7 million
EU member state since: 1st January 1986

Spain is surrounded by five countries:

  • France and Portugal are both in the Schengen border-free travel area
  • Andorra is a European microstate to which Schengen visa policy applies de facto
  • Gibraltar is British Overseas Territory
  • Morocco borders Spanish territory is North Africa

Because the Schengen Area has no internal borders, third-country nationals with an authorised ETIAS visa waiver can travel from Spain to France, Portugal, and Andorra.

These nations are accessible via aircraft, rail, bus, or private automobile.

Short direct flights from Spanish airports to other European locations such as Germany and Italy are accessible, providing Spain an excellent base from which to explore the rest of the continent.

A visa may be required for Morocco and Gibraltar depending on the length and purpose of the stay, as well as the nationality of the tourist.

Because of Europe’s visa liberalisation policy, many visitors can remain in the European Schengen Area for up to 90 days without a visa.

While a valid passport is now necessary to participate in the system, visa-exempt people will be able to register with ETIAS for Spain beginning in late 2023.

The ETIAS visa waiver may be obtained online, and the application can be done from home 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Non-EU visitors who are not eligible for a visa waiver must apply for the appropriate Schengen visa. Individuals must fulfil all European visa requirements, as well as provide supporting papers such as evidence of money and medical insurance.

To enter Spain from a visa-free nation for vacation, business, or transit, visitors will soon be required to register with ETIAS before to departure.

The European Travel Information and Authorization System is being implemented to increase security in Spain and throughout the Schengen Area.

ETIAS is not a visa, and the application procedure is simpler. All that is necessary is an ETIAS-compliant biometric passport, an email account, and a credit or debit card.

The ETIAS permission is instantly connected to the passport upon approval, so there is no need to carry a paper copy of the authorization.

Non-European visitors who are not eligible for visa-free entry will most likely need to get a Schengen visa for Spain.