This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Brussels
Official language: Dutch, French, and German
Currency: Euro
Population: 11.46 million
EU member state since: 1st January 1958

Belgium is surrounded by four countries, all of which are members of the Schengen Agreement. Because the Schengen travel zones do not have internal borders, travellers can simply move between states without being checked at border checkpoints.

The same ETIAS visa waiver can be used to enter France, Germany, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands. There is no need to apply for different permits for each country visited because the authorization is valid throughout all European ETIAS nations.

Belgium is an excellent starting place for seeing the rest of Europe, thanks to direct flights and international train links.

Non-European visitors from visa-free countries are not required to get a visa to enter Belgium for up to 90 days for tourism or business, or to transit through the nation.

When ETIAS becomes available, these travellers will be required to register for ETIAS online before travelling for Europe.

ETIAS is easier to get than a visa since the application procedure is entirely computerised and may be performed from home 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Those who are ineligible for ETIAS must get a Schengen visa for Belgium instead. Documentation such as evidence of money and medical coverage are necessary. Depending on the purpose for entering Belgium, several Schengen visas are available.

Citizens of visa-exempt nations may soon need an ETIAS if visiting Belgium for vacation, business, or transit and remaining for three months or less.

The visa waiver for Europe would supplement the EU’s present visa liberalisation policy, which means that citizens of ETIAS-eligible countries will be able to visit the country without a visa as long as they have registered with the pre-authorisation system.

Once accepted, the ETIAS permit is electronically connected to the passport and can be used to enter Belgium and the other Schengen countries until it expires.

Visitors who do not match the ETIAS standards will be required to obtain a Schengen visa for Belgium before entering the country.