This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Zagreb
Official language: Croatian
Currency: Croatian Kuna HRK
Population: 4.05 million
EU member state since: 1st July 2013

Croatia is in the process of becoming a member of the Schengen Area. It is not yet a complete Schengen member, but it has satisfied all of the requirements to enter the travel zone. Croatia is anticipated to become a full Schengen member in the near future.

Despite the fact that the nation is not currently a Schengen member, ETIAS rule will apply. ETIAS will be necessary to travel to Croatia as well as three other Schengen countries: Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania.

Croatia’s visa policy is heavily influenced by the Schengen acquis. The documentation required for travel to Croatia are determined by your nationality.

Other EU citizens only require a valid passport or ID card.

Non-EU nationals from visa-exempt countries such as Australia, the United Kingdom, and the United States can visit Croatia for up to 90 days with only a valid passport. Travelers from these countries will also require ETIAS for Croatia beginning in late 2023.

All other non-EU citizens, in addition to their passport, require a valid visa for Croatia.

Bulgaria shares land borders with Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, and Turkey. ETIAS will be valid for travel to Romania, which is also preparing to join Schengen. To go to other surrounding countries, you must first verify the visa requirements.

Bulgaria is well connected to other EU and Schengen nations. There are flights to countries across Europe including Greece, Hungary, and Italy.

Travellers with ETIAS will be allowed to utilise the same authorization to visit any Schengen countries as well as Bulgaria for up to 90 days in a 180-day period.