This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Copenhagen
Official language: Danish
Currency: Danish Krone (DKK)
Population: 5,8 million
Area: 16,638 square miles (43,094 square kilometers)
EU member state since: 1st January 1973
Schengen member state since: 25 March 2001

Denmark is closest to Germany and Sweden. With that said, travellers can easily move to the rest of Europe by road, ferry, air, or train.

ETIAS visa waivers will be accessible to visa-exempt travellers wishing to enter Danish territory beginning in late 2023. A valid ETIAS will become an admission requirement.

The kind of visa required for Denmark is dependent on the traveller’s country, the purpose of their trip, and the length of stay. EU citizens do not need a visa to enter Denmark.

Citizens of over 50 countries outside the EU can also enter Denmark without a visa. Prior to their travels, visa-exempt international visitors must get an ETIAS travel authorization online.

To visit Denmark, all other international travellers must have a Schengen visa. Applicants must complete a number of standards and acquire a number of papers before visiting an embassy or consulate.

When ETIAS becomes available to existing visa-free travellers, they will need to hold a passport valid for at least three months after leaving the Schengen zone, as well as a valid ETIAS.

The passport and ETIAS will be connected electronically. A new application must be made if the passport is no longer valid or has expired.

Beyond their intended stay in the Schengen Zone, ETIAS holders must have a valid travel document.

ETIAS will allow stays of up to 90 days in a row within a 180-day period. Extending the time limit may have an influence on future ETIAS applications.