This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Budapest
Official language: Hungarian
Currency: Forint
Population: 10 million people
EU member state since: January 2004

Hungary is surrounded by seven countries, three of which are Schengen members. When travelling from Hungary, an ETIAS authorization will allow qualified travellers to enter Austria, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

Visitors planning to visit European nations outside of the Schengen Area should verify their admission procedures.

ETIAS will begin operations in late 2023. Visitors visiting the Schengen zone who do not require a visa must apply online for an ETIAS visa waiver.

As a member of the Schengen Area, Hungary’s visa policy is governed by the Schengen Agreement. This implies that EU citizens from Schengen nations do not require a visa to enter their country. It also implies that nationals from more than 50 countries are visa-free and can enter Hungary without a visa. These foreign people will be able to register online with the ETIAS system to travel to Hungary and all other Schengen countries beginning in late 2023.

To enter Hungarian territory, foreign people who are not visa-exempt must apply for a Schengen visa. The visa may be obtained by submitting an application to an embassy or consulate and showing a number of papers, as well as a valid passport.

With the exception of EU nationals from Schengen nations, all foreign nationals entering Hungary must provide a valid passport.

When ETIAS becomes accessible, prospective applicants must hold a passport that is valid for at least three months after their scheduled date of departure from the Schengen Area. An ETIAS that has been accepted will be electronically connected to the traveller’s passport.

Holders of a Schengen visa should have medical insurance and must submit their visa and passport upon arrival in Hungary.