This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital: Valletta
Official languages: Maltese and English
Currency: Euro
Population: 441,700
EU member state since: 1st May 2004

Malta has no geographical boundaries with any other nations because it is an island nation.

However, many European towns are only a short flight away from Malta International Airport. Some of the locations that are easily accessible from Malta are Berlin, Paris, and Madrid.

The nearest ETIAS nation to Malta is Italy, which can be accessed in under two hours by plane or boat.

The ETIAS visa waiver allows entry into all Schengen countries without the requirement for separate permits. ETIAS will also be valid for visits to Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania, all of which are preparing to join the Schengen Area.

Citizens of over 50 visa-exempt countries can enter Malta without a visa using a valid passport and, beginning in late 2023, an ETIAS visa waiver. The ETIAS application procedure is entirely online; the application form is submitted electronically, and all interaction is handled via email.

Individuals travelling to Malta for vacation, business, or transit will retain their visa-free status, but must have an ETIAS visa waiver connected to their passport.

International tourists who are not qualified for ETIAS should apply for a Schengen visa. The application procedure is more complicated, including supporting evidence such as proof of money and medical insurance.

To enter Malta from countries free from European visa restrictions, a passport valid for the duration of your stay in the Schengen Area is required. Such persons will be able to get an ETIAS travel permit beginning in late 2023. Soon after implementation, ETIAS will become mandatory.

The ETIAS is electronically linked to the passport and recognised when the passport is scanned at the border; there is no need to carry a printed permission.

The European visa waiver allows for stays of up to 90 days in a 180-day period for tourist, business, or transit. To stay in Malta for an extended period of time or for reasons other than those indicated, a visa or other authorization is necessary.

Tourists who are not citizens of ETIAS-eligible countries must get a Schengen visa. To acquire a visa for Malta, you must have a passport and other supporting papers.