This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital City: Oslo
Official language: Bokmal Norweigian and Nynorsk
Currency: Norwegian kroner
Population: 5,372,191
EU member state since: Norway is not an EU member State, however, it is a member of the European Free Trade Association

Norway has borders with Sweden and Finland, although it is well connected to the rest of Europe. Flying to Norway from other Schengen member countries is a simple and convenient option. Other options for entering and leaving the nation include renting a car, riding the train, or taking the bus.

ETIAS for Norway will be accessible in late 2023. Those who are qualified should apply for the visa waiver at least a few days before their travel. A valid ETIAS allows you to travel to Norway and all other Schengen countries.

Norway’s visa policy is the same as that of the other Schengen countries. The type of visa required for a visit is decided by the nationality of the tourist. EU citizens do not require a visa or authorization to visit Norway.

Non-EU nationals from over 50 countries can enter Norway without a visa. Instead of a visa, people will soon have to register online to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver.

To enter Norway, all other international travellers must get a consular visa. The Schengen visa must be obtained through an embassy or consulate, and in addition to a valid passport, the tourist will need to assemble a few supporting papers.

Third-country nationals from visa-free nations must have a valid passport that is valid for at least six months beyond their anticipated stay in the Schengen Zone.

When ETIAS becomes available, holders will be permitted to remain for up to 90 consecutive days within 180 days. It’s worth noting that the passport will be electronically connected to the traveler’s ETIAS. (This is comparable to the US ESTA or the Canadian eTA.)

Travelers with Schengen visas should bring medical insurance. They must have an onward or return trip to their nation of residence in addition to their passport.