This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is

Vatican City

Official language: Italian
Currency: Euro
Population: 825 approx
Area: 121 acres

The Vatican City is bordered by Rome, the Italian capital. Italy has borders with AustriaFrance, and Switzerland all of which may be travelled with ETIAS.
The Schengen visa policy applies due to Vatican City’s open borders with Italy. Many nations’ passport holders can visit Vatican City without a visa. ETIAS will be required soon.

Foreigners who require a visa to enter Italy must get one before visiting Vatican City.

Tourists do not require any particular documentation to visit Vatican City, but international tourists must have the necessary permits to enter Italy. Between Italy and Vatican City, there are no border controls.

Although passport holders from visa-exempt nations are not needed to get a visa, they will soon be forced to register online with ETIAS before visiting Vatican City.

ETIAS is the new visa waiver programme for all countries that follow the Schengen visa regime.