This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is

  • EU Schengen
  • Non-EU Schengen States
  • Non-Schengen EU States
Citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina are not required to obtain a visa to visit any of the European countries in the Schengen zone for short visits.

However, beginning in late 2023, Bosnians and Herzegovinians will be permitted to travel to the Schengen Area through ETIAS. ETIAS is an electronic travel authorization for visa-free travellers, not a visa.

Bosnia and Herzegovina’s ETIAS authorization is a multiple-entry permit that allows for stays of up to 90 days every 180-day term. ETIAS does not need to be renewed before each travel to the Schengen Area because it is valid for three years from the date of issue.

An approved ETIAS for Bosnians and Herzegovinians allows the holder to travel all Schengen Area nations and microstates.

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland are all members of the Schengen zone.

An ETIAS from Bosnia and Herzegovina will also be required to travel to Schengen Area countries such as Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania, and some European microstates.

A valid ETIAS allows Bosnian and Herzegovinian citizens to travel to the Schengen Area for tourist, business, transit, or medical treatment.

Bosnians and Herzegovinians who want to work in Europe cannot do so with an ETIAS. Working in the Schengen zone with an ETIAS from Bosnia and Herzegovina violates the visa waiver rules and may result in the revocation of the ETIAS.

Citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina who intend to work in Europe must apply for a valid work permit or national visa for the country they wish to visit.