This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is


Capital city: Bern
Official languages: German, French, Italian, and Romansh
Currency: Swiss Franc
Population: 8.7 million

Switzerland is positioned in centre Europe, making it an ideal starting point for touring other Schengen nations.

Switzerland is bordered by Germany, Italy, Austria, Liechtenstein, and France, all of which are easily accessible by air, automobile, or train. People leaving Switzerland will not be checked at checkpoints, but they must have a valid passport and an ETIAS authorization or a Schengen visa.

Other Schengen nations, such as Spain, the Netherlands, and Belgium, are only a short flight away.

Non-EU passport holders from visa-exempt countries do not require a visa to visit Switzerland for a short period of time. They will require an ETIAS visa waiver soon. The European Travel Information and Authorisation System, which will become necessary for people of qualified countries in 2023, will be implemented.

ETIAS may be applied for online; all applicants need is a valid passport, an email account, and a credit or debit card.

Most other non-European travellers to Switzerland require a Schengen visa. Depending on the reason for travel, many types of visas are available. To apply for a visa, you must provide supporting papers such as evidence of medical insurance and adequate finances.

To enter Switzerland for vacation or business, citizens of visa-exempt countries must have a valid passport and, once fully implemented, an ETIAS visa waiver. ETIAS must also go through a Swiss airport.

Travellers from ETIAS-eligible countries will continue to be able to enter Switzerland without a visa, but they will need a valid authorization linked to their passport to cross an external Schengen border.

Visitors from outside Europe who are not eligible for ETIAS must get a Schengen visa.