ETIAS FOR ALBANIANS2023-10-11T10:33:11+00:00


This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is

  • EU Schengen
  • Non-EU Schengen States
  • Non-Schengen EU States
Despite its location in Europe, the Republic of Albania is not a member of the Schengen zone or the European Union. Albania filed for membership in the European Union (EU) on April 28, 2009, and has been an official candidate for entrance to the EU since June 2014.
Travellers from Albania are permitted to enter, travel between, and stay within the Schengen borders for a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period without the need to apply for a visa. Both the 90-day and 180-day periods begin on the day the Albanian traveller reaches any Schengen Area member country for the first time.

Visitors from Albania are permitted repeated entry into Schengen member nations as long as their total stay in the Schengen zone does not exceed 90 days in any 180-day period.

Albanian tourists with an approved ETIAS will have the same rights to visit Schengen Area countries beginning in late 2023, when ETIAS is fully functioning. As a result, Albanian nationals travelling to Europe with an ETIAS visa waiver may stay in the Schengen zone for a total of 90 days within a 180-day period.

Albanians visiting Schengen countries for tourism purposes are authorised to stay for up to 90 days and are forced to quit the Schengen Area once their stay expires. Tourists from Albania must then remain outside the Schengen zone until the 180-day period expires, at which point they are given a new 90-day stay in Schengen countries.

Citizens of Albania who seek to migrate to Albania or stay for more than 90 days during a 180-day period should contact the embassy or consulate of the country in which they intend to stay. Visiting an embassy will provide Albanians with the information they require regarding the best visa type for their specific situation. The type of visa required depends on the country in which they desire to stay, the purpose of their trip, and the length of their stay. Certain visas allow Albanians to work or study in the Schengen country of their choice.

No, the ETIAS authorization permits Albanian individuals to stay in Schengen member countries for short periods of time for tourism, business, or transit. Albanian passport holders who desire to work in any of the Schengen countries must apply for a work visa at the embassy or consulate of the country in question.

Work visas are country-specific, as opposed to the ETIAS travel authorization, which allows holders to enter all Schengen countries. Work permits will allow Albanian people to engage in professional activities in a single country but will not allow them to work in other Schengen nations. This is because each Schengen country has different procedures and policies for obtaining work visas.

The ETIAS visa waiver can be used for business purposes, however it does not allow holders to work in Schengen countries.

Unfortunately, Albanian individuals cannot enrol in school or university in the Schengen Area with a valid ETIAS. The visa waiver permits holders to travel the Schengen area for tourist, business, or transit purposes. Short workshops or conventions, however, are permitted as long as they do not exceed the 90-day restriction.

Albanian passport holders wishing to study in a Schengen nation must apply for a student visa. Students from Albania are recommended to apply for a visa at the local embassy or consulate of the country where they intend to further their study after being accepted into a school or institution.

Go to Top