This website is not associated with or owned by the EU. The European Union’s official website is

  • EU Schengen
  • Non-EU Schengen States
  • Non-Schengen EU States

Short-term travel to the Schengen Area does not require a visa for New Zealand citizens. New Zealand citizens are granted visa-free entry for up to 90 days. When ETIAS is fully operational in 2023, New Zealand passport holders will be able to travel to the EU without a visa; however, they will need to register online for ETIAS prior to their trip.

NZ passport holders are granted a 90-day visa-free stay in the Schengen Area within a 180-day period. The 180-day period begins on the first day a traveller enters a member country for these purposes.

The 90-day period is calculated by adding the total number of days a visitor spends within the Schengen Area beginning with the day they entered. This includes an unlimited number of entry and exit points from member countries.

Yes, New Zealanders are permitted to work in Europe. They must obtain a national visa for the Schengen country in which they wish to work.

New Zealanders traveling to the Schengen Area with an ETIAS may take part in events such as a congress or brief workshop. However, the ETIAS visa waiver terms clearly state that the holder is only allowed to visit the Schengen area for travel, transit or business purposes.

NZ passport holders who wish to study for an Undergraduate degree or Master’s degree programme in any Schengen area member country are required to hold an appropriate study visa or residence visa, depending on which country they wish to study in.